To turn the Aarhus Convention’s principles into concrete actions on the ground, the OSCE through its field operations and the Office of the Co-ordinator of OSCE Economic and Environmental Activities (OCEEA), began establishing Aarhus Centres in 2002. The first Aarhus Centre was established in Yerevan, Armenia.  Since then, working closely with host governments among its participating States and in close partnership with the UNECE Aarhus Convention Secretariat and the Environment and Security (ENVSEC) Initiative, the OSCE has been supporting the establishment, operation and networking of Aarhus Centres which now covers 60 Aarhus Centres in 14 countries in four regions:

South-Eastern Europe: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia

Eastern Europe: Belarus, Moldova and Ukraine

South Caucasus: Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia

Central Asia: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan