Armenia hosts a network of fifteen Aarhus Centres working on environmental issues throughout the country. The first Aarhus Centre was established in the city of Yerevan in 2002. The other Aarhus Centres were inaugurated between 2005 and 2010 in the cities of Dilijan (2005), Gavar (2007), Goris (2005), Gyumri (2007), Hrazdan (2007), Kapan (2005), Vanadzor (2005), Alaverdi (2008), Aparan (2008), Ijevan (2005), Stepanavan (2008), Yeghegnadzor (2008), Yeghvard (2008) and Ararat (2010). The Aarhus Centres of Armenia work on all three pillars of the Aarhus Convention including promoting public participation in the decision-making process and raising awareness of the public regarding environmental issues and their rights. They deal with various environmental hotspots, disaster risk reduction, environmental legislation and other issues.