There are three Aarhus Centres in Montenegro: the Aarhus Centres in the cities of Podgorica and Nikšić were established in 2011; one year later, 2012, the Aarhus Centre in Berane was opened. Their focus is on strengthening partnerships among civil society, government and other stakeholders to reinforce the implementation of the Aarhus Convention.