There are four Aarhus Centres in Kyrgyzstan: one in the city of Osh (since 2004), one in the capital Bishkek (since 2014), one in Issyk-Kul (since 2017) and one in Naryn (since 2019). The primary focus of the Aarhus Centres is to monitor the pollution in environmental hotspots and to facilitate dialogue between mining industries and local communities, facilitating access to information and informed decision-making on the Aarhus Convention Protocol on Pollutant Release and Transfer Register (PRTR), promote community-based disaster risk reduction and foster stakeholder engagement in uranium legacy remediation.

  • Aarhus Centre Bishkek

    The Aarhus Centre Bishkek ensures public access to information and the decision-making system, in order to ensure the rights of citizens to a healthy environment.

  • Aarhus Centre Issyk-Kul

    The Aarhus Centre in Issyk Kul works on the implementation of the Aarhus Convention by focusing on:

  • Aarhus Centre Naryn

    The main goal of the Aarhus Centre in Naryn is to promote the implementation of the Convention at the local level. In particular, the Centre's main activities include:

  • Aarhus Centre Osh

    The Aarhus Centre Osh supports and promotes the implementation of the Aarhus Convention in and around Osh, in Southern Kyrgyzstan.